KSDSU Darbhanga: History of Kameshwar Singh Darbhanga Sanskrit University, Latest News

View of Kameshwar Singh Darbhanga Sanskrit University
Kameshwar Singh Darbhanga Sanskrit University

Kameshwar Singh Darbhanga Sanskrit University is in Darbhanga city under the Bihar state of India. At the time of its establishment, its jurisdiction was all over India. Presently, its jurisdiction remains only in the state of Bihar.

History of KSDSU Darbhanga

Maharaja Kameshwar Singh had established the first private University, in the Lakshmishwar Vilas Palace and donated it to the government of Bihar in 1960. The headquarters of Kameshwar Singh Sanskrit University is situated in Lakshmishwar Vilas Palace.

The Bihar government duly established the Kameshwar Singh-Darbhanga Sanskrit University on January 26, 1961. under the Kameshwar Singh Darbhanga Sanskrit Vishvavidyalay Act, 1960 (Bihar Act VI of 1960), as a result of the big charity of Maharajadhiraja Dr Sar Kameshwar Singh and courtesy of Dr Zakir Hussain, the then Governor of Bihar State and Dr Sri Krishna Singh, the then Chief Minister of Bihar.

KSDSU named after the last Kings of Darbhanga

It is because this University was established in Darbhanga due to the unforgettable charity and efforts of King Kameshwar Singh of Darbhanga. The name of Kameshwar Singh was added to Darbhanga Sanskrit University as a gesture of gratitude.

Kameshwar Singh Darbhanga Sanskrit University Achievements

KSDSU is the first Sanskrit University in the state of Bihar and the second University in India. The university has departments for teaching postgraduate (Acharya) and Shikshashastra(B.Ed) as well as research work in Sanskrit grammar.

Presently the operation of this University is being conducted under the updated Bihar State Universities Act, 1976 (Bihar Act XXIII of 1976) and the regulations, regulations, ordinances, rules and directives issued under this Act.

Colleges under KSDSU Darbhanga

Under this University, there are 31 affiliated colleges in different parts of the state, 31 financially affiliated Shastri level colleges and 15 financially affiliated ecological level colleges for teaching Sanskrit.

There are 7 Academic Departments of Kameshwar Singh Darbhanga Sanskrit University:

  • Department of Shikshashastra
  • Postgraduate Department Darshanshastra
  • Postgraduate Department of Theology (Dharmashastra)
  • Postgraduate Department of Veda
  • Postgraduate Department of Astrology
  • Postgraduate Department of literature
  • Postgraduate Department of grammar.